Alaska Recreation &Park Association

This page contains the list of award recipients for the most recent 5 years. To see the full list of recipients as well as detailed descriptions of award criteria click here

Professional Award

This is the highest recognition that ARPA can bestow upon a deserving candidate. The person will be carefully chosen. In considering a candidate for the Professional Award, he/she must meet the qualifications as set forth in the criteria for this high award.

 2017 Donnie Hayes
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2016 Jason Avery
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2015 D. Tyrell McGirt
 City of Unalaska Parks, Culture & Recreation
 2014 Mike Illg
 City of Homer Parks & Recreation
 2013 Rachel Parra
 North Peninsula Recreation Service Area

New Professional Award
(perviously Young Professional Award)

 2017  Brandon Harker
 Challenge Alaska
 2016  Ricky Borland
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2015  Albert Burnham
 City of Unalaska Parks, Culture & Recreation
 2014  Luke Kline
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2013  Mike Kinney
City of Seward Parks & Recreation

Bob Robertson Service Award

 2017 Mike Bork
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2016 Maggie Wilkins
 Boys & Girls Club, Seward
 2015 Brandon Harker
 Challenge Alaska
 2014 Melanie Hauze
 City of Seward, Parks & Recreation
 Jeff Dick
 Challenge Alaska

Lifetime Achievement Award

 2016  Helen Clough
 Juneau / Anchorage
 2015  Shareen Adelmann  City of Seward Parks & Recreation
 2012  Jeff Hawley  City of Unalaska Parks, Culture & Recreation
 2009  Bob Robertson  "Father of ARPA"
 2007  Nancy Peterson  City of Valdez / City of Unalaska

Distinguished Service Award

 2016  Golden Rush Days, Inc.
 2015  Sally Dwyer
 2014  Kristi West
 City & Borough of Juneau, Parks & Recreation
 2012  James "Jim' King

Outstanding Organization Award

 2017 Friends of Tanana Valley Railroad, Fairbanks
 2016 Seward Prevention Coalition
 2015 Petersburg Chamber of Commerce
 2014 HoWL Homer Wilderness Leaders
 2013 Arctic Winter Games Host Society Fairbanks

Facility Excellence Award

 2017 Pioneer Park
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2016 Aquatic Park
 Jim Creek ATV Trails
 City of Unalaska Parks, Culture & Recreation
 Matanuska Susitna Borough Parks & Recreation
 2015 Outlook Park Petersburg Parks & Recreation
 2014 Soldotna Creek Park
 Tanana Lakes Recreation Area
 Soldotna Parks & Recreation
 Fairbanks North Star Borough Parks & Recreation
 2013 Government Peak Recreation Chalet Matanuska-Susitna Borough

ARPA Appreciation Award

 2012 Helen Clough US Fish & Wildlife Service, Juneau
 2010 Shareen Adelmann City of Seward Parks & Recreation

ARPA Outstanding Business Partner Award

 2017  Playcraft Systems
 Margaret Miller
 2016  ExerPlay  Farrell Smith
 2015  SiteLines  Gary Max
 2014  Northwest Playgrounds  Bob McGarvey

Nominate someone (or agency/organization) for an award.

The recognition and celebration of excellence within the field of Parks and Recreation is the sole purpose of the ARPA Awards committee. This group of volunteers undertake the difficult task of reading through the numerous qualified candidates each year in order to bestow most deserving professionals the honor of one of the following awards.

We invite you to take a moment and nominate a deserving co-worker, employee, volunteer or supervisor  Below are links to download Annual Awards Descriptions and Recipients and a Nomination Form. So many of our co-workers are’s your chance to give them the recognition they deserve.

Nominations for 2017 Awards are due on August 1, 2018 and will be presented at the Fairbanks Annual Conference in October.  Remember these awards recognize accomplishments done/completed in 2017.

We are also looking for volunteers who would like to serve on the Awards Selection Committee.  We would like to have one person from each section and from different communities around the state on the committee.  If this is something you would be willing to do, please email Shari.

Click here to download the Annual Awards Descriptions and Recipients Document 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software