Alaska Recreation &
Park Association

ARPA's Mission:

  • Providing a forum for interchange of ideas and information among parks, recreation and wildland professionals and supporters;

  • Promoting the personal, environmental, social and economic benefits of parks, recreation and wildlands

  • Coordinating, organizing and promoting quality educational opportunities; AND

  • Preparing and providing educational information relating to parks, recreation and wildlands.

ARPA Member Submitted Photos


Mark your calendars - the community of Fairbanks will host the ARPA Annual Conference October 23-25 2018. The conference is an opportunity for professionals from across the state to gather and celebrate the diversity of our field.

The focus of the conference is threefold; opportunities for continuing education and the exchange of best practices, the chance to network with other peers and to recognize accomplishments through the ARPA Awards Ceremony.   

Check back as more information will be released as it becomes available. 

Log in to read current and past issues of the ARPA FLASH, participate in Professional and Social Forums, and register for members-only Events. 


A link to our member directory.
Click here


(Awarded in 2017)

Professional Award - Jason Avery, Fairbanks

New Professional Award - Ricky Borland, Fairbanks

Bob Robertson Service Award - Maggie Wilkins, Boys & Girls Club, Seward

Lifetime Achievement Award - Helen Clough, Juneau

Distinguished Service Award - Gold Rush Days Inc., Valdez

Outstanding Organization Award - Seward Prevention Coalition

Facility Excellence Award -
     Aquatic Center, City of Unalaska
     Jim Creek ATV Trails, Mat-Su Borough

ARPA Outstanding Business Partner Award - ExerPlay, Farrell Smith

See all of past award recipients and how to nominate someone deserving

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software